The Indoor Report
Air

Coway Airmega 100 Fits a Small Room on Its Published Numbers

Coway's published sizing, filter, noise and price figures for the Airmega 100, with the room-size math shown.

Updated October 14, 2026 Our sourcing rules

Coway publishes a smoke clean air delivery rate (CADR) of 108 for the Airmega 100. Under the Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) two-thirds rule, that rating fits a room of about 162 square feet or less.

At The Indoor Report, we explain what each published specification means for a buying decision. Every product figure below comes from Coway's Airmega 100 product page, as Coway listed it on 2026-10-14, or is arithmetic on those figures. Coway calls the Airmega 100 its first cylindrical air purifier and its most affordable model ever.

The product page headline says the unit purifies 810 square feet in 60 minutes, but the spec table ties the 810 square foot figure to one air change per hour. Two news headlines about the unit appear below as headlines only, with no claim about what those reviewers found.

What Coway Publishes and What It Means for a Small Room

Coway publishes a smoke CADR of 108 for the Airmega 100, which gives about 162 square feet under the AHAM rule. The AHAM rule turns that rate into a floor area: as set out on our best air purifier guide, the smoke CADR should be at least two-thirds of the room's floor area in square feet, with 8 foot ceilings.

The arithmetic is short. Divide 108 by two-thirds and you get 162 square feet, the same result as multiplying 108 by 1.5. Our CADR rating guide explains the rating itself, and our room size guide shows how to measure your own floor area.

Coway's spec table also lists 405 square feet at 2 air changes per hour and 810 square feet at 1 air change per hour. Those figures use a different basis from the AHAM rule, and the 810 square foot figure is the one in the page headline.

Coway also lists a dust CADR of 124 and a pollen CADR of 112.

Coway Airmega 100 Filter Stack and Filter Life

The Airmega 100 uses a 3-in-1 filter made of a vacuumable pre-filter, a HEPA layer and a deodorization layer. Coway says the system captures particles down to 0.01 microns.

Coway lists a life expectancy of 1 year for the filter, and the same page says up to 12 months. Coway describes filter replacement as user friendly and recommends Coway genuine filters. This guide has no replacement filter price, so the yearly filter cost cannot be worked out here.

Size, Weight and Desk Fit

Coway lists the unit at 8.7 by 15.6 by 8.7 inches (width by height by depth) and 6.6 pounds (3.0 kilograms). Coway also lists 360 degree air intake.

The 15.6 inch height is the number to check against a desk. A news headline reads "Coway's Airmega 100 Purifier Quickly Filtered the Air and Slid Easily Under a Desk." The headline does not name the desk height or clearance.

Noise, Power and Controls on the Coway Airmega 100

Coway gives one noise range for the unit: 20 to 48 dB(A). Coway also says the product is Quiet Mark certified.

The figures used here do not say which fan setting produces which level. The fan settings are Auto, 1, 2 and 3. For a bedroom, check the 20 dB(A) low end and 48 dB(A) high end against how close the unit sits to the bed. Coway's Airmega 100 page is the source to check for anything beyond that range.

Coway lists power consumption at 25 W. Run continuously at that rate, the unit uses 0.6 kilowatt-hours a day (25 W times 24 hours is 600 watt-hours), or about 18 kilowatt-hours over 30 days. Our electricity use guide covers how power draw translates into energy use. Coway lists one 25 W figure and no draw per fan setting.

Coway lists a PM 2.5 particle sensor. The control panel has a light button. The translucent grill changes color to show air quality: blue for good, green for moderate, orange for unhealthy and purple for very unhealthy. Coway says that in Smart Mode the sensor adjusts airflow automatically.

Coway Airmega 100 Price as Coway Lists It

Coway lists the price at $129.99 for both the white and black versions as of 2026-10-14. Coway also lists free shipping to the 48 continental US states and a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Prices and stock change. Check the current price on Coway's Airmega 100 page before you order.

This guide has no prices from other retailers, so it cannot compare sellers.

Who the Airmega 100 Suits and Who Should Look Elsewhere

The Airmega 100 suits a room of about 162 square feet or less under the AHAM rule.

Look elsewhere for an open living room larger than 162 square feet. Coway's 405 and 810 square foot figures do not follow the AHAM sizing basis, so they do not settle the question for a large room. Our best air purifier guide sets out the AHAM rule for comparing units.

One headline calls the Airmega 100 "a no-frills air purifier that gets the job done." The reviewer's findings are not reported here. The controls this guide lists are four fan settings, a PM 2.5 sensor and a light button.

Pick the Airmega 100 if your room is under about 162 square feet and the listed controls cover what you need. Choose a higher-rated unit if the room is larger. Our Coway vs Winix comparison sets the two brands side by side.

What the Published Numbers Do Not Tell You

The CADR of 108 is a manufacturer-reported figure. No removal percentage in this guide comes from testing by The Indoor Report.

Coway's claim that the system removes 99.999 percent of ultra-fine particles down to 0.01 microns is Coway's own, footnoted on its page. The footnote text is not quoted here, so the conditions behind that figure are not stated in the sources cited.

The listed figures give no removal rates for named pollutants.

Several items are unpublished in the sources used here: the replacement filter price, the filter model number, the noise level at each fan setting and any retailer price. Coway's product page is the source to check for the filter price.

Steps to Check the Fit Before You Buy

Four checks turn the figures above into a buying decision.

  1. Measure the floor area of the room in square feet, then compare it with 162 square feet.
  2. Measure the clearance under the desk, then compare it with the 15.6 inch height.
  3. Compare Coway's 20 to 48 dB(A) range with the room where the unit will run.
  4. Compare other units against the AHAM rule on our best air purifier guide or our Coway vs Winix comparison. Check the current price on Coway's Airmega 100 page.

Common questions

How long does a Coway Airmega 100 filter last?

Coway lists a life expectancy of 1 year for the 3-in-1 filter, and the same page says up to 12 months. The pre-filter can be vacuumed, and Coway recommends its own genuine filters. No replacement filter price appears in the listed specs.

Does a Coway air purifier work?

Coway's published figures are a sizing rating, and they do not measure removal in your room. The smoke CADR of 108 and the AHAM two-thirds rule give about 162 square feet of floor area, which is the only performance arithmetic the listed figures support. No independent removal test for this model appears in the sources used here.

What room size suits the Coway Airmega 100?

The Airmega 100 suits a room of about 162 square feet under the AHAM rule. Divide Coway's smoke CADR of 108 by two-thirds to get 162 square feet. Coway's 405 and 810 square foot figures assume 2 and 1 air changes per hour, so they do not follow the AHAM sizing basis.

Is the Coway Airmega 100 quiet enough for a bedroom?

Coway lists noise between 20 and 48 dB(A), and the listed range does not say which fan setting produces which level. Coway also says the unit is Quiet Mark certified. The figures used here give no noise by fan setting, so compare the 20 dB(A) low end with your bedroom and verify details on Coway's Airmega 100 page.

What does the Coway Airmega 100 cost?

Coway lists the Airmega 100 at $129.99 for both the white and black versions as of 2026-10-14. Prices and stock change, so check the current price on Coway's Airmega 100 page.